Aino lands winter 2027. The waitlist goes in first
Get early access

Husky safari vs reindeer safari: which one to book in Rovaniemi

Speed, length, price, who holds the reins, and how to fit both into one Rovaniemi day with the drive minutes.

Four huskies in harness standing in deep snow on a frozen lake near Rovaniemi, with an empty sled behind them and snowy pines on the right

Quick answer. Book the huskies if you want to drive and feel speed, and the reindeer if you want calm, have small children, or want a cheap half hour taster. A self-drive husky tour runs 6 to 18 km at roughly 12 to 21 km/h with you on the runners. A reindeer sleigh walks at 4 to 5 km/h with a herder leading. As of October 2026, husky rides in Rovaniemi cost from 63 € per adult for 2.5 km to 249 € for a 12 to 18 km self-drive, and reindeer rides from 30 € for 400 m to 189 € for a two hour farm visit with a 2 to 3 km ride.

  • Both in one day is easy: two short rides inside Santa Claus Village take under two hours, or pair a 10:00 husky tour with a 14:00 reindeer journey at Apukka Resort.
  • Only adults drive husky sleds. Reindeer sleighs are always led or steered by a professional.
  • Ask every operator how cold is too cold and how many runs a team does a day. The good ones publish it.

Husky or reindeer: the short version

Husky safariReindeer safari
SpeedRoughly 12 to 21 km/h (2.5 km in 7 to 12 minutes, Bearhill Husky)Walking pace, about 4 to 5 km/h (800 m in 10 to 12 minutes, Santa Claus Reindeer)
Who drivesYou, on self-drive tours (two per sled). A musher on guided ridesA herder or guide. Every Apukka sleigh is steered by a professional
Ride length2.5 km taster to 12 to 18 km self-drive; 20 km on one farm's long tour400 m to about 3 km
Time on site30 minute slot for a taster, 2 to 3 hours with a kennel visit5 to 15 minutes for a village ride, 2 to 3 hours with a farm visit
Price per adult, October 202663 € to 249 €30 € to 189 €
Youngest passengerInfants welcome on musher-driven rides (Bearhill); child prices from age 4No minimum age (Santa Claus Reindeer); Apukka's night ride not for ages 0 to 3
Best forFriends, couples, anyone who wants to driveSmall children, grandparents, a quiet hour, a tight budget

How fast is a husky sled compared to a reindeer sleigh?

Nobody publishes a speedometer reading, so we worked it out from what operators do publish. Bearhill Husky says its 2.5 km Santa's Husky Rides take 7 to 12 minutes of actual sledding, which is 12 to 21 km/h depending on the team and the snow. Santa Claus Reindeer's 800 m Forest Path takes 10 to 12 minutes, which is 4 to 5 km/h, a brisk walk. Apukka Resort's reindeer page says the animals can sprint but its tours "emphasize a leisurely pace".

That difference shapes everything else. On a husky sled you stand on the runners, steer and brake, and Bearhill warns that "mushing is physical". On a reindeer sleigh you sit while the herder leads from the front.

How long is the ride?

Husky rides run from a 2.5 km taster inside a 30 minute slot at Santa Claus Village to self-drive tours of 6 to 10 km (45 minutes of driving) and 12 to 18 km (90 minutes) at Bearhill, and a 20 km Saturday tour at Korvalan Kestikievari. Reindeer rides are short because the animal walks: 400 m and 800 m loops in the village, up to 1.5 km at Santa Claus Reindeer's Taava farm, and 2 to 3 km on Apukka's two hour journey. The rest of a farm visit is feeding the animals, a fire and coffee, and the herder talking about the work.

Either way, plan half a day. Overalls, the safety talk, the kennel or farm walk and the transfer back add up to 2 to 3 hours for anything beyond the village tasters.

What do they cost?

Prices from operator pages, per person, as of 13 October 2026. The operators don't state whether VAT is included, and all prices are in euros.

Operator and productRideAdultChildNotes
Bearhill Husky, Santa's Husky Rides2.5 km, musher63 € (12+)52 € (4 to 11)Santa Claus Village, 30 November 2026 to 4 April 2027
Bearhill Husky, Running with the Pack5 km, musher164 € (169 € from 30 Nov to 10 Jan)99 € (104 € from 30 Nov to 10 Jan), ages 4 to 11Kennel visit, pick-up from village or centre
Bearhill Husky, Happy Trail6 to 10 km, self-drivefrom 196 €not stated45 minutes of driving
Bearhill Husky, Call of the Wild12 to 18 km, self-drive249 € (17+)207 € teen (12 to 16), rides only90 minutes of driving, two per sled
Apukka Resort, early winter husky ride3 km, self-drive179 €139 € (4 to 14), infants freeNovember, hourly 10:00 to 15:00, transfers included
Baba Husky via Arctic TreeHouse Hotel, Husky Forest Escape10 km, self-drive199.50 €149 € (4 to 12)11 January to 31 March 2027, 10:00 daily
Santa Claus Reindeer, Reindeer Path400 mfrom 30 €not statedSanta Claus Village, no booking
Santa Claus Reindeer, Forest Path800 m50 € (60 € from 1 Dec to 10 Jan)35 € (40 € from 1 Dec to 10 Jan)Tickets on site only, 1 November 2026 to 30 April 2027
Santa Claus Reindeer, daytime Taava farm safariup to 1.5 km, 3 hoursfrom 160 €not statedPick-up from village and centre
Apukka Resort, Reindeer Journey2 to 3 km, 2 hours189 €119 € (4 to 14), infants freeTransfers from centre and village included
Apukka Resort, sleigh ride across the night3 hours, 20:30195 €125 € (4 to 14)Not recommended for ages 0 to 3

Visit Rovaniemi's booking site lists more, including a 109 € reindeer farm visit with a sleigh ride about 15 minutes from town (Book Lapland) and Korvala's 4 km, 8 km and 20 km husky tours at 120 €, 140 € and 200 € per adult, children half price. Our Lapland activity price guide puts these next to snowmobiles and the rest.

Who drives?

On a husky safari this is the first question to ask, because it changes the price, the age limits and the day. Musher-driven rides seat you in the sled, up to four adults at Bearhill. Self-drive tours put two people per sled, one driving and one sitting, and at Bearhill the drivers swap halfway. Apukka's self-drive page is blunt: "Our guides do not drive the sleds", and it asks for enough fitness and body control to handle one.

Reindeer are different. Apukka says each sleigh is steered by a professional for safety, and Santa Claus Reindeer's guides lead the animals, each pulling a wooden sleigh and two passengers. Some farm visits hand out a "reindeer driving licence" at the end. On the listings we read it is a souvenir certificate, so don't expect the reins.

Age and weight rules, as the operators state them

Bearhill prices children at 4 to 11 and adults from 12. On Call of the Wild only adults aged 17 and over may drive; teens of 12 to 16 ride with a parent or in the guide's sled. Infants are welcome on the musher-driven Running with the Pack, with sleeping bags for small babies. Apukka prices children at 4 to 14, takes infants aged 0 to 3 free on day tours, has winter gear from age 2, and says children are not permitted to drive. Santa Claus Reindeer lists a minimum passenger age of 0, with small children riding with an adult. Apukka doesn't recommend its night reindeer ride for ages 0 to 3.

Weight is the gap. None of the operator pages we read publishes a weight limit. What they do say is that the guide allocates seats so the load is even for the reindeer or the dog team, and that Bearhill caps a self-drive sled at two people. If your group is heavy, or you want to be sure two adults can share one sled, ask by email before you pay.

Animal welfare: what to look for

Visit Rovaniemi's guidance is that responsible operators openly explain how they care for their animals, that activities should fit the animals' natural characteristics, and that the Sustainable Travel Finland label is worth checking for. Here is what that looks like on the operators' own pages.

Two questions to put to any operator before you book: how many runs does a team do on a busy December day, and what happens to the animals when it's too cold or too warm to go out.

How to fit both into one day

Drive times below are OpenStreetMap routing for clear roads; add 5 to 10 minutes in snow. Rovaniemi without a car has the bus and taxi options.

The easy version: both inside Santa Claus Village

Bearhill's Santa's Husky Rides meet at Joulumaantie 4 and Santa Claus Reindeer's loops are in the same village, a few minutes' walk apart. The village is 8.6 km and about 9 minutes from the centre by car, or 30 minutes on bus line 8. Book a husky slot, walk over to the reindeer when you're done, then see Santa. One adult pays 113 € for both rides as of October 2026, and the whole thing fits inside two hours. Walk-ins on the husky ride are "not a guarantee", so book that one; reindeer tickets are sold on site only.

The full version: a kennel in the morning, a farm after lunch

Cost for one adult: 164 € plus 189 €, so 353 € as of October 2026, before lunch. If that's too much, swap the Apukka afternoon for the 800 m Forest Path in the village on the way back from Bearhill's drop-off, which turns the afternoon into 50 € and half an hour. Apukka also runs both animals from its own yard, with the farms a few minutes' walk from the resort, if you'd rather stay in one place.

Which one should you book?

Whichever you pick, book it as soon as your dates are set. Kennels have a fixed number of dogs and sleds, and Visit Rovaniemi says many activities sell out early from December to March. What to book before you go has the order.

Frequently asked questions

Is a husky safari or a reindeer safari better?

Huskies if you want to drive and move fast: a self-drive husky tour covers 6 to 18 km at roughly 12 to 20 km/h. Reindeer if you want calm, have small children, or want a short taster: a reindeer sleigh walks at about 4 to 5 km/h and a herder leads it. If you can only pick one and you are travelling with friends or as a couple, most people are happier with the huskies.

How much does a husky safari cost in Rovaniemi?

As of October 2026, from 63 € per adult for a 2.5 km musher-driven ride at Santa Claus Village (Bearhill Husky) to 249 € for a self-drive tour of 12 to 18 km (Bearhill's Call of the Wild). A 5 km musher-driven ride with a kennel visit is 164 € per adult and 99 € per child aged 4 to 11, or 169 € and 104 € between 30 November 2026 and 10 January 2027.

How much does a reindeer sleigh ride cost in Rovaniemi?

As of October 2026, from 30 € for a 400 m ride at Santa Claus Village and 50 € per adult (60 € from 1 December to 10 January) for the 800 m Forest Path, both run by Santa Claus Reindeer with no booking needed. Apukka Resort's two hour reindeer journey with a 2 to 3 km ride is 189 € per adult and 119 € per child aged 4 to 14, transfers included.

Can children drive a husky sled?

No. Bearhill Husky lets only adults aged 17 and over drive on its Call of the Wild tour, with teens aged 12 to 16 riding in the sled, and Apukka Resort says children are not permitted to drive. Children ride as passengers on musher-driven tours, and Bearhill's Running with the Pack takes infants, with sleeping bags provided.

Can you do a husky safari and a reindeer ride on the same day?

Yes. The simplest version is inside Santa Claus Village, where Bearhill's Santa's Husky Rides (2.5 km) and Santa Claus Reindeer's Forest Path (800 m) are a short walk apart and take under two hours together. For longer rides, do a 10:00 Bearhill husky tour with pick-up from the village or the centre, then Apukka Resort's 14:00 reindeer journey, 18 minutes by car from the centre and 10 from the village.

Sources

  1. Bearhill Husky, Santa's Husky Rides (2.5 km, 7 to 12 minutes, 63 € and 52 €, Joulumaantie 4, sharing note), accessed 13 October 2026
  2. Bearhill Husky, Running with the Pack (5 km, prices by date, infants, four adults per sled, pick-up points and timing), accessed 13 October 2026
  3. Bearhill Husky, self-driven tours (Happy Trail 6 to 10 km from 196 €, Call of the Wild 12 to 18 km from 249 €, mushing is physical), accessed 13 October 2026
  4. Bearhill Husky, Call of the Wild (17+ to drive, teens 12 to 16, two per sled, 249 € and 207 €), accessed 13 October 2026
  5. Bearhill Husky, weather protocols and kennel etiquette (temperature thresholds), accessed 13 October 2026
  6. Bearhill Husky, code of conduct (dog logs, no tolerance for neglect), accessed 13 October 2026
  7. Bearhill Husky, FAQ (cart rides below plus 10 degrees, no self-driving to the kennel in winter), accessed 13 October 2026
  8. Bearhill Husky, contact (kennel address Viiksojantie 192, 97220 Rovaniemi), accessed 13 October 2026
  9. Apukka Resort, Apukka Reindeer Journey (189 € and 119 €, 2 to 3 km, departure times, professional steers every sleigh, even load, transfers), accessed 13 October 2026
  10. Apukka Resort, early winter husky sled ride 3 km (179 € and 139 €, guides do not drive, children not permitted to drive, gear from age 2), accessed 13 October 2026
  11. Apukka Resort, reindeer sleigh ride across the night (195 € and 125 €, 20:30, not for ages 0 to 3, Lakela Reindeer certification), accessed 13 October 2026
  12. Santa Claus Reindeer, home (ride lengths and from prices), accessed 13 October 2026
  13. Santa Claus Reindeer, Forest Path 800 m (50 € and 35 €, 60 € and 40 € in high winter, tickets on site, minimum age 0), accessed 13 October 2026
  14. Santa Claus Reindeer, reindeer sledding in Rovaniemi (guides lead the animals, two passengers, pace, welfare statements), accessed 13 October 2026
  15. Santa Claus Reindeer, northern lights reindeer safari (3 hours, about 25 minutes in the sleigh, pick-ups), accessed 13 October 2026
  16. Arctic TreeHouse Hotel, the Husky Forest Escape by Baba Husky (10 km, 199.50 € and 149 €), accessed 13 October 2026
  17. Visit Rovaniemi, husky sled rides and farm visits (Korvala tour prices, Husky Park), accessed 13 October 2026
  18. Visit Rovaniemi, reindeer sleigh rides and farm visits (Book Lapland and Porovaara listings), accessed 13 October 2026
  19. Visit Rovaniemi, reindeer and huskies (responsible operators, Sustainable Travel Finland label), accessed 13 October 2026
  20. Visit Rovaniemi, activities (December to March sell-out note), accessed 13 October 2026
  21. Arctic Circle Husky Park (dogs run free regularly, retired dogs), accessed 13 October 2026
  22. OpenStreetMap, car routing (OSRM) between the centre, Santa Claus Village, Apukka Resort and Viiksojantie 192, accessed 13 October 2026
  23. Sunrise-sunset.org, sunset time for Rovaniemi in December, accessed 13 October 2026